Just Do It.

20140407-191130.jpg

“Courage is not having no fear. It’s being afraid but doing it anyway.”

I’ve been looking through multiple websites all day trying to find the cheapest tickets for flying in and out of Europe for my backpacking trip. And I think I’ve found the one. But now that I’ve sorted that out I can’t bring myself to click on that orange little button book.

It’s irrational, I know. All I’ve been talking about since even before I graduated was how I was going on this great adventure to comb the magnificent cities, eat mouth-watering food and just having a bloody fantastic time. But now… Now I’m not so sure.

I’m planning a trip from August 31st till January 29th. 4 months and 29 days of being immersed in beautiful cultures and unforgettable sights.

But…what if I don’t enjoy myself? What if I get there and the “oomph” factor that I’ve read so many bloggers rave about just doesn’t hit me? What if I feel as numbed and lifeless there as I do here?

And then there’s the more legitimate fears. 4 months and 29 days?! What if I don’t have enough money to support myself? (Red alert! insufficient planning, I know) What if all throughout the trip all my mind can fret over is whether or not that college application got through? What ifs, what ifs and more what ifs!

“Worrying says more about the worrier than the worries.”

I’m afraid to commit to this decision because I’m not sure if I’ll be able to pull through. And of course that sounds so silly because the whole point of this trip is to let loose and just have fun. It’s not a blazing trail through purgatory! So I guess this whole post is basically just a boot to my own ass. I want to stop being such a worry-wart and if I don’t click that orange little button then I’ll forever remain the kind of person I don’t want to be. The kind of person that only talks about such great and grand things, but never actually do them…

“If you can worry, it means that nothing has actually happened.”

So. Pep Talk 101: Go out there and do it (whatever it is). Because when it comes down to crunch time, when you really have to, you’ll find a way to survive.

Once again, this anxiety filled post contains no interesting information whatsoever. I really do want to talk about my upcoming trip. When I’ve got the nitty gritties finalized that is. Do keep a look out for that if you’re interested (my as yet invisible readers).

Talk to me!:
What are your backpacking/memorable traveling experiences? What fears did you face and how did you overcome them?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Just Do It.

  1. Daria says:

    Ah this is beautiful! I definitely know where you come from. This anxiety you feel.. it’s normal! When I graduated from high school I left home to work at a backpacker hostel in Cape Town, South Africa, for six months and it was one of the best times of my life! I wrote about it here – maybe you would like to check it out :) http://contentedimperfection.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/why-you-should-work-in-a-backpacker-hostel-at-least-once-in-your-life/

    Either way, you should go! Make your dreams come true and just enjoy all the beautiful sides life has to offer :) ~ D

    • retrodiction says:

      Thank you!:) At least I know for sure I’m not the only one! But you’ll be glad to hear that it hasn’t gotten the best of me. I just booked my tickets!!! Woah. What made you decide to go to Cape Town? And for 6 months! How’d you survive expenses wise? I’m definitely checking that blog post out:) hope to hear more from you. And maybe bump into you on the road one day;)

      Xx michel

      • Daria says:

        That is so great to hear, you will have such an amazing time! Do you know which countries you will be going to yet? Cape Town wasn’t even my original plan (I wanted to volunteer in Costa Rica ;)), but they offered a lot of internships there. It was the placce I was supposed to be at the time :)
        Before I forget to say so: Because you’re back to blogging and because I am definitely looking forward to reading more from you, I nominated you for a Liebster Award – I hope you accept :)

        http://contentedimperfection.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/the-liebster-award/

        And since you are officially coming to Europe.. who knows, maybe we’ll really bump into each other one day! :)

  2. retrodiction says:

    I’m really hoping i do! Tentatively my plans are France>Italy>Greece>Germany>Denmark>Sweden(and maybe Norway)

    Internships for working at backpacker hostels? How do I get that!
    Your experience reminds me of this quote: “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”

    That is so sweet of you! I do accept. Give me a couple of days to get that up though!

    I can’t believe I’m really going! It still feels so surreal. Do you live in Europe?

    If you want, here’s my email: michel_michel_michel_michel@hotmail.com
    I’d really like to get to know you better!

    Xx Michel

  3. lifeofmissb says:

    Love your blog! Excellent news to hear you’ve booked your trip…You are going to love Europe. My last trip was 3 years ago and I dream of Europe constantly. My only advice is to hide the cost of changing flights somewhere just in case! This way if you run out totally you can still get home – but that’s just the ‘Plan B’ person in me (I try to always have a back up). Have a wonderful time xox

    • retrodiction says:

      That’s too kind of you. You’re making me blush☺. What was your trip like 3 years ago? I say, go again! Plan this instant then go again! With any luck, I might even bump into you while I’m there.

      It’s always good to have a back up plan. I’m a worrier by nature so I definitely know what it’s like to have a ‘Plan B’ person in you. (Except I’m bad at following through so I always end up going with whatever. Oops) thank you!

      Xx Michel

      • lifeofmissb says:

        My trip was amazing!! We only had 5 weeks & did a big bus tour (top deck) because I was travelling with my sister & it was easier to do this (she’s not the most adventurous). At the end we had a week in a villa in Tuscany! Unfortunately I won’t make it over this year – coco the rescue dog has seen to this! I’m sure you’ll have an amazing time no matter what :-)

      • retrodiction says:

        That sounds fun! So what would you say are the must-sees/dos/eats while over there! You prefer adventurous traveling? Adventure sports, crazy local cuisine, off the beaten track travel?
        Coco’s your rescue dog? I hope you’ll get to go to all the places you want to go in the near future! Thank you!:)

  4. […] come true. That’s not to say that all the fears and doubts I had before booking my tickets (see previous post) just magically disappeared. If anything, I feel them more acutely because everything feels so real […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

